Green Solutions Remodeling Reviews - Glen Arm, MD | Angi (2023)

1.0

08/03/2021

Jill G.

This two week bathroom remodel was a 6 1/2 week nightmare that won’t stop. The initial paint wasn’t what I requested. I had to bring it to their attention to get them to repaint it with the correct brand & color. The grouting and caulking job was poorly done & have had them come out several times to correct it. The initial order of supplies for the job wasn’t placed at all. The job was to start in May & in June I had to bug them about when they were going to start my job. The communication between the office & the employees on the site was severely lacking. They put a hole in an adjacent wall when removing the old tub and didn’t realize it. We had to point it out to them to get them to fix it.The job hasn’t been complete for a full week & the caulking is peeling where the tub meets my tile. I wish that I could give the zero stars!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category awnings, home remodeling

5.0

07/20/2019

Charlene R.

Everything went smoothly. The crew did a wonderful job. They were very careful of all my shrubs and and property as they had to remove my 2 old roofs first. Clean up was great and my new roof looks beautiful.

Description of Work
Old roofing removed and new one installed

Category roofing, home remodeling

5.0

06/30/2019

Amanda Sue P.

They replaced our entire roof with architectural shingles. The work was done quickly (this process took less than one day) and the new shingles look amazing. The spring was very wet, and we have not had a single issue with our new roof.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

06/27/2019

Merle W.

I was given a run down of roofing materials that would work well on my roof, the costs and their opinion of what they suggested I use. However, I was given space to choose what I wanted to use with no pressure from Green Solutions. We worked well together.

Description of Work
I had my roof replaced.

Category roofing

5.0

06/05/2019

M A.

Great! We love working with Green Solutions. Small enough to be personable and big enough to be reliable.

Description of Work
Finished basement/ in law suite, deck and screened porch

Category contractors, closet systems, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, picture framing, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, sunrooms, basement remodeling

1.0

03/21/2018

Lisa S.

In the process, they broke a window, damaged our gutter helmets, and put a ridge vent over our porch in a different color than the rest of the roof. We contacted them about the broken window on June 29. Ira the owner came out and agreed to replace the window. He said it would be custom made and take a couple of weeks b/c of the upcoming Independence Day holiday. The next day, his sales manager Howard came by and measured the window. At that time we pointed out the damaged gutter helmet and miscolored ridge vent. The short version is despite numerous phone calls and emails, we heard nothing until late August. We were told that the window would be replace shortly. We were even called a couple of times and told the workers would be by that day -- but they didn't come (no show & no call back). The window was finally fixed in Sept. The ridge vent in October, and the gutter helmet in February (as in 4 weeks ago)!

Description of Work
Green Solutions Remodeling replaced our roof last June 29.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Sometimes trying to accommodate a customers wishes backfires . This is the case here. Yes a window was broken on the outside pane and was replaced finally after it came in damaged the first time. The real delay was the gutter guards. In order for the customer to save the 1500 charge from gutter helmut to remove their gutters before the new roof install (as required by their warranty) they requested we replace the roof with the gutter guards in place. My fault, should have never agreed to that as some sections were damaged during the reroof. They insisted on having only gutter helmut brand reinstalled and this is where the delay came in. I had no choice but to contract with gutter helmut at a cost of over a thousand dollars for a few pieces of gutter guard. I sent Ms [Member Name Removed] the contract i signed but was helpless as to when they would complete the repair. The important thing to remember here is that we stood behind everything and there was no problem with the installation or inconvenience on the part of the homeowner just sour grapes

3.0

After meeting with salesman I felt that the price was reasonable and the door met my needs. After measuring the parts were ordered in late November 2017 with materials expected to be received on the 18th of December. I realized this was close to holidays and winter season but was advised that this would not be an issue. After no response I followed up on the 20th of December and scheduled installation. Installation of door seemed to go well and I like how door looks, however after the fact I noticed screws and a lot of debris left by installer outside my house. I cleared most of it away but some still remains. Additionally I did notice that the weather stripping does not have complete coverage and I can see light peaking thru at the bottom of my door. The installer also advised me that a part fell inside the frame of storm door and someone had to come and get a new part to replace it. I was told on 26 January that this part came in but they are waiting for someone to come and take a look at it. It is now the 8th of March and I've still received no response after following up twice. I had intended on discussing my issues once receiving a response about the part but have now decided to document this experience as I would like to get this resolved.

Description of Work
New Front door and Storm door installation

Category doors

5.0

08/08/2017

Tiffany J.

Their bid was about $2400. I don't remember what the final amount was. For the responsiveness we had a lot of time, a lot of sort of struggle, trying to figure out when the windows were going to come in and then scheduling that. At first they were super responsive during the sales process. But when it came to the installation process, communication dropped off. Part of it I think was that they had problems getting the product we ordered in. It's been 8 months now, it's hard for me to remember.

Description of Work
They replaced a bunch of windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

06/19/2017

Atiba B.

The work was done quickly and gutters looked beautiful. We ended up paying some additional money to have all of the gutters and downspouts replaced. We upgraded to 6" gutters and downspouts and all of our overflowing gutter and drainage issues are now a thing of the past. Green Solutions were responsive, friendly and professional. We're very happy with the work and the decision.

Description of Work
Purchased the Big Deal to have a 100ft of gutters replaced/installed. I ended up paying extra to have the remainder of the perimeter replaced (not just the problem areas).

Category gutter repair

5.0

06/13/2017

TIm H.

Great work and very professional installers

Description of Work
Needed 5 windows replaced.

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/25/2017

Joel W.

I got them from Angie's List. They finished on project and are now doing another one. They call me, I don't call them. They did a number of things for me so the entire amount for the work they did was about $15,000. Then what happened was ?the fascia behind the gutters had to be replaced. When they were doing that I had them replace the columns on the house, and while they were doing that we found out that the beams that the columns were supporting were infested with carpenter ants so I called a company and had them do the work because they were exterminators so we had to hold up the work until I could get the exterminators to come. Now they are removing the old deck and are putting up a new, larger deck with a sun room -- basically a screened in porch on the deck. Then the porch on that that is attached to the house and we are also pulling a double window and replacing it with a French door entryway into the deck. I don't know if it is there fault but we had issues with the permits from the county. It was about a week delay from the county. ?I don't know about the price but I think they are pretty much comparable.

Description of Work
I am using a company called Green Solutions Remodeling to do construction work. They did some work on the front which is really excellent work. Originally I called them for gutters. That kind of grew from there. They replaced the gutters and downspouts on the house.

Category contractors, gutter repair

5.0

04/26/2017

Michelle P.

It went great as usual. With the strange winter, we did get a cold snap and then rain, yard got damaged slightly..Ira notified me before I got home..so there was no shock. He had a crew fix it in no time.

Description of Work
After using them for years at my old home, they came out after I bought my new home and told me that I did not need new windows, that the capping on the exterior would help with the air leaking. The windows in my home are only 5 years old. The 2 sliding glass doors were original so I had them replaced, one with a slider and one with a french door with blinds. I have been working with Ira for years, and he was great as usual, as well as their installation crews. I downsized and he let me know that my roof and siding were good to go.

Category replacement windows, home remodeling, doors

5.0

01/14/2017

Amanda S.

The team arrived on time and completed the work during one day. Additionally, they went ensured the new windows were properly insulated.

Description of Work
All new windows needed to be installed.

Category remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling

08/03/2016

Douglas M.

I ADORE my new bathroom. Tim, their construction guru, was FANTASTIC. Ira, the owner, was PROFESSIONAL AND RESPONSIVE. Would I use them again? Yes, as long I I didn't have to deal with the sales rep. Tim, the construction guru who did all of the work, was wonderful! A true craftsman. Honest. Meticulous work. Every night left my home cleaner than it was before he arrived. Plus he is a wonderful guy. The owner, Ira, was great. He was not involved initially however he had to jump in as he could tell how frustrated I was with the sales rep. Before I share more on this, please know that I am VERY pleased with my new bathroom! Great work, looks great, and a fair price. It was just that the sales rep was tough to work with - not organized, had me doing so much of the planning work, and he just doesn't know when to stop talking and start listening. - The sales rep is inherently a decent guy, but clearly our personalities did not click; I know what want, am outspoken, like input but when I speak my mind move on, and I like action not words. The rep was so frustrating to work with I had to get the owner involved as the guy was driving me batty. - Warning signals should have been obvious early on. Like when I talked about how I wanted to replace the fronts of the vanities, etc. A last minute "Hey I'm close to your home can I stop by to show you samples" (requests to meet were typically last minute like this) - then he brought over 2-3 samples from his warehouse. They weren't close to what I was looking for. His point was they had some left over and the cost was cheap. I have an amazing penthouse condo; I never said I wanted cheap, and I was clear on the color I wanted. As was often the case, he typically failed to listen and was more focused on his ideas (that I continually shared I didn't like and I knew what I wanted). - Then he'd text me that he's close by and could he stop over so I could pick cabinet faces - and quickly had to select from one small catalog. - I finally said we needed to go visit facilities to pick out lights, hardware, etc. And when we went to the tile shop and Home Depot to pick things out, I don't believe he even made a single note. I finally provided links to every item selected. I could go on...but whew. - I regularly had to follow up, remind of key steps, keep lists of what they had to do because this guy is thoroughly unorganized and seemingly unfamiliar with the detailed, actual steps needs to go from conversation to completion of a project. - I continually asked for a document that listed everything we did and the items purchased or used so that I had records for future reference and tax returns (to show money invested in my home to increase my basis in the home). I never got it. Finally the owner got it to me after the job was done. - Likewise I asked for plans on what they would be doing; I finally had to draft them. I included details on every aspect, down to hardware being purchased, paint colors, etc. as the rep had no clue and could not give me a plan. This made Tim's job much easier as he had a drawing showing what color was to be used for what walls, what walls were getting what tile, etc. - Most frustrating was that the rep never knew when to stop talking. He is so busy talking or thinking about what to say next that he is a terrible listener. I can't tell you how many times I'd say I want "x" color fixtures or whatever, then he'd always talk about how his wife is a high end interior decorator and she'd suggest "y." Plus, he really missed some key points about the quote - saying they could do work that ultimately Tim had so say "no, can't install a new tub, have to work with the current one." - The worst case of the above was when we went to Home Depot to pick out faucets, etc. At one point I asked him to please go and walk around the store and let me look alone as I needed quiet time - without his non-stop talking. He said OK. And then he continued to stand next to me and keep talking. I finally had to raise my voice and say, "Please leave me along...go somewhere." It reminded me of the scene from Monty Python's Holy Grail when the prince's father tells the guards to stay and watch his son until he comes back - and as the father turns to leave the room the guards follow him - and when he asks where they are going, they respond "we're going with you" - a classic case of not listening. On my ratings, all good scores were for Tim and the owner, any bad scores were for the sales rep, and most B scores were a blend of interactions with all three (with the rep pulling down the score).

Description of Work
Wanted to renovate my master bathroom

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

4.0

08/03/2016

Douglas M.

Overall I was very happy. The finished product was great. Tim did a great job installing. Professional, clean, thorough and friendly. The sales rep was quite frustrating. From never stopping talking so he could listen, to never providing documented details for the project, to never completing drawings for his team, to having me have to Google to find what to buy. Or I'd tell him what I wanted and he often would tell me his wife is an interior decorator and she would suggest x, y or z - I had to keep telling him I didn't like or want her input (especially since she had never seen my place or talked to me). I literally had to create a floor plan so that Tim knew the job details - what walls were being painted what color, what walls got the new wall tile, what lights to buy, etc., etc., etc. The rep was nice but was completely unorganized - I had to do a lot of his job because he didn't. I finally got the owner involved as the rep was too frustrating to work with. The owner was very nice to work with. Any ratings I give that are below an A are due to my frustrations with the sales rep. Tim, the owner and the final product were great! Again, the final product - fantastic!

Description of Work
Renovate my master bathroom

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

5.0

05/17/2016

Louis C.

I've used Green Solutions Remodeling for a new roof, all new windows and gutters. We were very happy with the quality of work and knew that we would use them for our patio door installation. Ira was gracious enough to replace our storm door after another contractor made a mess of the job (yes, we should have called Green Solutions in the first place). I've recommended them to friends and family and do so with confidence, because everyone has thanked me for such a great recommendation. From Ira and Joe, to Dawn, we have always been treated very well and will never, never think to hire anyone but them. Their employees are always polite, friendly and do a great job.

Description of Work
Installed a sliding glass door and a storm door

Category doors

5.0

03/03/2016

Debbie K.

Very satisfied with job and workmanship. From beginning to end, they were very professional. Any issues were resolved immediately without any hassles. Neat, friendly, professional and price was very reasonable compared to others. Very happy and would refer to friends and family!

Description of Work
Resurfaced kitchen cabinets.

Category remodeling, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words. We strive to make these projects as smooth as possible.

5.0

11/03/2015

kathleen M.

Overall, our experience was quite good. We had no experience with combining multiple jobs and some of it turned out to be a bit more complex than expected. But it was great to work with just one company to get everything completed. The roof job was completed in one day, which was great. It would have been nice to be forewarned that we should remove framed art from the walls (we learned this when one item came crashing to the floor and the glass needs replaced). The team that did the roof was efficient and it looks great. The siding and gutters took several days; this crew could have been a bit more conscientious in cleaning up around the house (lots of nails around) but no big complaints. Tim did an outstanding job in both bathrooms. His work was really high quality and he consulted with us as needed in getting the jobs done. He was a great resource in making decisions about materials, etc. I would DEFINITELY want him back for other remodeling jobs! The only downside to our experience (and I take some responsibility for this) was not understanding how much work we would need to do to source the materials and not examining the contract in enough detail. For example, the contract contained a budget for 4 sets of shutters when we needed 6 sets. The budgeted amounts for materials in many cases was lower than what things eventually cost. For example, the budget included $925 for a 48" vanity and faucet (I spent $1500) and $200 for shower fixtures (I spent $600). I probably could have found items within the budgeted amount but they wouldn't have been very nice. I should have been more aware of what things really cost. We spent a lot of time looking for tile and other materials; I was expecting a bit more help with that process. So, although there were some bumps in the road, I was very pleased with how responsive Ron and Ira were to our concerns. They negotiated with us on some of the unexpected costs and we ended up very satisfied. I would recommend Green Solutions to others, with the caveat that you should ask more questions than we did and be more informed up front about the costs of the kinds of materials you want to use, so you don't end up with surprises. Our house looks great and I'm really glad we had the work done!

Description of Work
We had a new roof, siding, and gutters installed and two bathrooms remodeled.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, gutter repair, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home remodeling

1.0

06/30/2015

Leo G.

I called this company after reading all the positive reviews on Angie?s List. My estimate appointment was scheduled 2 days after my phone call. Ron Kraus came to my house on time. He looked at the scope of work, told me several times how good his company was and that their MHIC license was one of the oldest in Maryland. He told me that he needed to talk to the plumber and left. A week later, after not hearing from anyone, I called the company myself. I spoke to a secretary, and she said that she was going to contact Ron Kraus and that he would call me back. Two weeks later still no phone call, letter, e-mail or any form of communication. At this point, due to their unresponsiveness, I am no longer interested in any service from this company. P.S. I decided to write this after reading the company's response. I don't like when companies shift blame onto their customers instead of admitting their mistakes. I did receive one voice mail from this company after my review was already submitted. The person said in his message that he was taking over my project and wanted to come out for an estimate (and that's after Mr. Kraus had already come out to my house for an estimate several weeks prior). There were NO other messages or any other forms of communication before or after.

Description of Work
Came for an estimate

Category plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Sir we have called you several times regarding your project most recently this past monday and again on wendsday we left a message on your home phone every time we called @ [Member Contact Information Removed] We are sorry if you did not get our message. I would be happy to meet with you myself or call you with pricing if you are still interested. As you can see from our reviews we are not in the habit of ignoring our customers

5.0

Very pleased with the work that was performed. We had 2 major storms (heavy wind/rain) a week after the replacement and the roof looks great. Reasonable price after getting 5 other estimates.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced roof shingles and 2 skylights.

Category electrician, lighting, roofing, skylights, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks again for the kind words. Glad everything worked out so well

5.0

05/07/2015

Susan A.

it was excellent work at a good price and a very responsive group to work with.

Description of Work
New bathrooms

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Your job was certainly a challange! glad it worked out so well

5.0

03/18/2015

Michelle P.

I called after the rain we had, and Ira sent a service guy out..we were having problems with our gutters over flowing. My son had hit tennis balls on the roof, clogging the gutter. Thanks for cleaning them. Green Solutions did not charge me for the service I sent 2 25.00 Gift card to Texas roadhouse for Ed and Mike...

Description of Work
Cleaned clogged drain

Category plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

thanks for the kind works always a pleasure to help out a customer like yourself!

5.0

03/13/2015

Merle W.

I had been considering replacing my old windows with new ones for a couple of years but was reluctant to because of the cost. I had several windows to be done. I had been in touch with Green Solutions a couple of times because I couldn't decide whether I wanted to go to the expense or not. They were very patient with me during the process explaining the pro's and con's and also advised which windows definitely needed to be done. That gave me the option to not do all of them at the same time and I appreciated the courtesy. In the end I decided to replace all of the windows except one and have never looked back. The windows are easy to operate and easy to clean not to mention much more efficient in both summer and winter weather. Green Solutions staff was easy to work with, very courteous and very responsive. It was also helpful to me that they were very quick and neat. I have cats so was worried that they might get out while workers were constantly in and out of the house during installation. However, they were very mindful of them and kept on the look out for sneaky getaways. I have to admit, I may be a little high maintenance. I called a couple of times because I wanted adjustments made to the windows. No questions were asked and my schedule was accommodated each time. I have used them for other projects in the past and plan to do so in the future.

Description of Work
My old windows were replaced with more efficient storm windows. I was given several options to choose from.

Category replacement windows, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for positive feedback. and no you are not "high maintenance" just a customer who expects and got the kind of service you deserve!! Any customer that got as much work as you have over the last 20 years from us should expect only the best!

5.0

02/05/2015

Michelle P.

We had been discussing putting a screened enclosure on our deck. We called in September and Ira discussed different options. We wanted the room built so it could be completed as a fully functional room in the future. We discussed different options, and Ira showed us a product from Four seasons Sunrooms. We knew we were eventually going to fully enclose the room so we asked for a price of a basic screened enclosure or a fully functional room. We realized that if we were to wait and do things piecemeal, then it could cost more in the long run. We decided to to a fully functioning room. They handled the permits, drawings and all of the necessary inspections. everything went very smooth. Mike and Sonny did the installation. We had the room completed by Christmas and we love it. During the installation, a storm had picked up some of the debris and blew it onto my neighbors yard. A call on Sunday led to same day service. the answering service contacted them, and they had a staff member out within 2 hours to gather the debris. My neighbors were very appreciative. We hope to stay in this home until we retire..if not longer. Ira and his staff have been great since our first project with them. Next up will be the bathrooms and we will be done

Description of Work
Added new sunroom to rear of the home

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It's always a pleasure to have customers like you.We are glad to know we are there when you need us. If Angies list had a customer grade, you surely would have an A +++. We look forward to helping you with your bathroom, and again, thanks for being a customer.

3.0

02/04/2015

Shannon R.

Price was middle of the road, so not bad. Had a few glitches with the salesman vs the builder for the design/install of the deck, but it was handled quickly. The company had only one person building decks at the time, with no assists for our project. He was apparently building several decks at once, so it took several weeks to complete, with a number of no-show days and days where he left our job after a short time. The company was nonchalant about this problem and my loss of time from work. When a company representative checking on the job at the end found that the layout ended up adding approx 10sf he hinted at billing me for it. I complained about the ridiculous amount of time it took to complete the job and he backed off. Work was ok, not holding up as well as I expected it to with some cracked/warping/loose boards after a year and a half. Undecided about using them for future projects at this time.

Description of Work
We contracted to build a 12x12 deck.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

This customer neglected to include some very important facts. During the construction of the deck we experienced the derecho storm on june 29, 2012..Her neighborhood along with many others looked like a war zone. There were many trees down and no power for over 10 days in many areas including hers. Our company does have generators but in this crisis we were using them for power to our own homes. No one of course had any generators available after this storm for sale or rent so her job did take longer than expected. It was a situation completely out of our control. Also we built a deck so the customer did not lose any time from work due to us as all our work was outside. Regarding her split and warped boards, we suggest to every customer that purchases a wood deck that within 6 months it should be sealed to avoid those type of issues, i'm sure that was never done nor has this customer ever contacted us regarding any issues or problems. Our contract clearly states the timeframe the work is to be completed in WEATHER PERMITTING

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: The Hon. Margery Christiansen

Last Updated: 12/02/2022

Views: 6302

Rating: 5 / 5 (70 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: The Hon. Margery Christiansen

Birthday: 2000-07-07

Address: 5050 Breitenberg Knoll, New Robert, MI 45409

Phone: +2556892639372

Job: Investor Mining Engineer

Hobby: Sketching, Cosplaying, Glassblowing, Genealogy, Crocheting, Archery, Skateboarding

Introduction: My name is The Hon. Margery Christiansen, I am a bright, adorable, precious, inexpensive, gorgeous, comfortable, happy person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.