Sunrun Solar Review (2022) (2023)

In This Review:Our Take|State Availability|Solar Panel Options|Warranty Options|Installation| Sunrun Reviews| Payment Options |Our Conclusion|Company Overview|FAQs

Sunrun offers solar services to customers looking for sustainable energy solutions that can help them save money and reduce their carbon footprint. Sunrun handles your solar panel installation from start to finish, guiding you from site assessment to utility interconnection. By providing virtual home consultations and customizable solar panel payment agreements, Sunrun makes your path to going green simple.

The This Old House Reviews Team has followed a secret-shopping process with thebest solar companiesin the United States to determine the best of the best. Read our review of Sunrun’s services, purchasing options, and warranties to decide whether it’s the best solar provider for your home.

Our Take on Sunrun

Sunrun offers a wide range of protection for solar panel customers, including panel theft protection and free maintenance on its Tesla Powerwall offering. Its extensive product protection and solar offerings make it a solid choice for customers looking for comprehensive warranties.

Pros and Cons of Sunrun

Compare the advantages and disadvantages of Sunrun:

✔ Offers protection from panel theft or damage with its BrightSave insurance policy
✔ Provides system monitoring that signals issues with your system
✔ Extends free maintenance on Tesla Powerwall battery

✘ Solar and battery availability varies by state
✘ Customer service isn’t available seven days a week

Get your quote from Sunrun today

Sunrun State Availability

Sunrun offers its services in 20 states, plus Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico. The solar energy company services Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Sunrun Solar Panel Options

Sunrun offers a variety of services, includingsolar panel installationand solar storage. Sunrun installs monocrystalline solar panels from various manufacturers. Monocrystalline panels are the most efficient panels on the market, with an average efficiency rate of 15%–20%. The brand of solar panels you receive will depend on your location.

Solar Storage

Available to new Sunrun customers, Brightbox Home Battery powered by LG allows customers to harness excess solar energy generated by their system and use it when it’s most needed, such as during a power outage. Installed in your garage or outside of your home, Brightbox offers battery storage in a variety of sizes, adapting your home’s energy needs.

The Brightbox Home Battery powers part of the home during an energy shortage, but if customers want a whole-home backup, Sunrun offers the Tesla Powerwall battery. This battery holds up to 13.5 kilowatt-hours (kWh) of usable capacity, holding your home over until power is restored.

Sunrun Warranties

Sunrun protects its products and services with a 10-year bumper-to-bumper solar system warranty. The warranty includes free equipment replacement and system repairs, including parts and labor. Additionally, the warranty guarantees watertight roof penetrations—a method of mounting your system—for a full decade.

Sunrun Installation

If you’re looking tosave money on your electric billby supplementing your energy needs with solar power, Sunrun offers solar panel purchasing options and installation. The solar company takes care of the entire installation process, so you don’t have to worry about permits or utility companies.

Here’s what you can expect during a typical solar system installation with Sunrun:

  1. Site assessment—For your solar panels to harness energy properly, they must be facing the right direction. During the site assessment, Sunrun professionals will determine if your home can support solar energy, as some homes receive too much shade to produce solar energy.
  2. Design approval—After the site assessment, Sunrun designs your system to support your home’s exact needs.
  3. Permitting—Before installation, the company will take care of city permitting for you.
  4. City/county inspection—The city must approve the installation before it’s connected to the electrical grid.
  5. Solar installation—Sunrun will install your solar panels within five days of receiving a permit and confirmation from your city or county.
  6. Utility interconnection—Sunrun will speak directly with the utility company to establishnet meteringand connect your system to the grid.
  7. Power up—Once the utility company approves the operation, you can start using your system.

Sunrun provides proactive monitoring for BrightSave and Protection Plus products, checking your system’s efficiency and ensuring all parts are in good working order.

(Video) Stay clear of SunRun (Rebate Scam) - review | JoeteckTips

(Video) Sunrun Solar Explained 2022 | Sunrun Proposal Review | Sunrun PPA | Sunrun Solar Design | Sunrun

Sunrun Solar Reviews

Sunrun is accredited by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and holds an A- rating. BBB established this rating by evaluating Sunrun’s interaction with customers and handling of customer complaints. The company has received mixed reviews, with some customers citing positive experiences with sales representatives and others experiencing issues with payments.

Here are a few Sunrun reviews from BBB users:

“Had our Sunrun system turned on since May in the Denver metro area and it was easy and seamless! We used to pay $80/month for electricity, now we pay $60/month. … More importantly, we are no longer supporting the local coal industry—every day the sun is out [it] powers our home! It’s pretty cool. I wish more people would share their positive experiences here, as I know multiple happy customers.” — George S.

“I made the investment to install solar panels. I have had them [for] about 5 or 6 years now. I am pleased with Sunrun. They have been professional & responded promptly when I needed to have them taken down this past year to have my roof replaced. What I thought would be a big headache, turned into a smooth project.” — Nancy S.

“Very happy and highly satisfied that I chose Sunrun for Solar Power. They made the process so easy and effortless on my part. The consultant explained everything so well and exact. The installation crew did a nice job and the representative kept me update on everything.”— Carlos G.

“Good luck getting your money back! We sold our house, and SunRun was only supposed to take a partial payment for the month that we vacated the house. Instead, they took the full payment from our account. I called on March 3rd to dispute this, and they said a check for the difference would be in the mail. After 2 months, and at least 6 phone calls, I am STILL waiting on the refund! While we had the house with the solar panels, we had no problems. But if you ever sell your house before purchasing the panels, BEWARE!”— Lane E.

“[Too] many problems since I started service with Sunrun. I really want to help the environment with better air quality and reduce contamination. That was the main reason why I decided to go solar. But I have had many problems [as] the system connects and disconnects, and the company doesn’t really care about it.” — Celestina S.

“Everyone that I dealt with at Sunrun was very knowledgeable professional friendly and committed to doing the job right. They helped me find a company to reroof my house and got me a great price to have it done. They installed the solar panels in one day and cleaned up everything when they finished.”— John A.

(Video) Buying vs Leasing Solar - What Sunrun, Vivint, and Sunnova don't want you to know!

*BBB ratings are accurate as of August 2022.

Sunrun Payment Options

Sunrun offers five solar plans and service options, including a monthly lease, lease system, power purchase agreement (PPA), purchase system, and monthly loan option. Though Sunrun doesn’t detail each plan online, it offers an outline of what each plan could look like if selected. Compare the five options below:

Plans

Rebates

Sunrun does not offer any rebates specific to its brand. However, the company states that it will work with you to determine what tax incentives and rebates are available in your state. It also encourages homeowners to take advantage of the federal solar tax credit. This 30% tax credit applies to the cost of any solar energy system installed between 2022 and 2032. The rate will drop to 26% starting in 2033.

(Video) What Tesla Solar Won't Tell You Unless You Ask...

Our Conclusion

Despite concerns over customer care and a lack of transparency with payment options on its website, Sunrun offers customizable solar energy solutions that can help you save money in the long run. By taking care of the entire installation process and monitoring your system for you, Sunrun takes the headache out of solar panel ownership.

Compare Sunrun to Other Solar Providers

Sunrun Overview

  • Company name: Sunrun Inc.
  • Company type: Public
  • CEO: Lynn Jurich
  • Years in business: 13
  • Address: 595 Market Street, Floor 29, San Francisco, CA 94105-2802
  • Phone number: 833-324-5886
  • Website:https://www.sunrun.com/

Frequently Asked Questions About Sunrun

Our Rating Methodology

The This Old House Reviews Team is committed to providing comprehensive and unbiased reviews to our readers. This means earning your trust through transparent reviews and data to back up our ratings and recommendations. Our rating system for solar service providers is on a 100-point scale based on five factors:

  • Payment options (40 points): Options include purchase, loan, lease, and Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs). Companies receive points for each of those four options it provides.
  • Solar services (30 points): Does the company provide in-house installation of solar panels and battery backups? Can the company also monitor energy production and perform energy-efficiency audits to ensure system performance. The more options available, the higher the score.
  • Warranty options (10 points): The success of a residential solar system depends on the workmanship, performance guarantees, and length of product coverage. We score companies based on the number of warranty options available. The more warranties a company offers, the higher the score it receives.
  • State Availability (10 points): We award the most points to companies with the broadest service area and state availability.
  • Reputation (10 points): We factor in how the Business Better Bureau (BBB) scores each company. We deduct points for any alerts or pending lawsuits.

To share feedback or ask a question about this article, send a note to our Reviews team atreviews@thisoldhousereviews.com.

FAQs

Is sunrun a good choice for solar? ›

Sunrun is a good and practical choice for customers looking to quickly and simply save money on their energy bills through a solar lease. However, for homeowners looking for attentive customer service both before and after installation, we advise you to shop around.

What are the most efficient solar panels 2022? ›

Panels built using advanced 'Interdigitated back contact' or IBC cells are the most efficient, followed by heterojunction (HJT) cells, TOPcon cells, half-cut and multi-busbar monocrystalline PERC cells, shingled cells and finally 60-cell (4-5 busbar) mono cells.

Is solar worth it 2022 California? ›

Are solar panels worth it in California. Solar panels have fallen in price by more than 80% in the last ten years. In 2022 they also remain subsidized by the 30% federal tax credit and the net metering law, making them an excellent investment.

Is sunrun doing well? ›

As of November 08, 2022, Sunrun Inc had a $4.9 billion market capitalization, putting it in the 83rd percentile of companies in the Renewable Energy Equipment & Services industry. Currently, Sunrun Inc's price-earnings ratio is 83.8. Sunrun Inc's trailing 12-month revenue is $2.1 billion with a 3.3% profit margin.

Is Sunrun in financial trouble? ›

Based on the latest financial disclosure, Sunrun Inc has a Probability Of Bankruptcy of 51%. This is 26.05% higher than that of the Technology sector and about the same as Solar (which currently averages 51.96) industry. The probability of bankruptcy for all United States stocks is 28.04% lower than that of the firm.

Why is sunrun solar so expensive? ›

Sunrun cost

The average cost for a solar energy system ranges from $15,000 to $29,000, but Sunrun's prices are sometimes higher than other solar energy providers because of the technology it uses. Fill out a form on its website to get a free solar energy consultation and quote.

Is it worth getting solar in 2022? ›

In every Australian state, no matter your electricity consumption, solar panels are worth buying in 2022. While there are many variables that impact the cost, savings and payback of solar panels, the upshot is that in Australia they are a good investment.

Is solar still worth it 2022? ›

Solar panels will still work in less-than-ideal conditions. However, homes that receive little light or have limited roof space will not benefit from a system. Homeowners with high utility bills: If the cost of your utility bills is constantly high throughout the year, a solar system could help meet your energy needs.

Will solar panels get cheaper in 2022? ›

The report added, a 2022 solar system could end up costing more than it would have in 2021 as providers run out of materials and deal with continued delays and higher prices. "Having been in residential solar for 15 years, the pricing trend has almost always been down.

Why is 2022 your last chance for solar? ›

There is currently a 26% federal solar tax credit, called an Investment Tax Credit (ITC), available for all homeowners who install residential solar panels between 2020 and 2022. That means 2022 is pretty much your last chance to take advantage of the 26% tax incentive.

What are the 2 main disadvantages to solar energy? ›

Solar Cons
  • Standard home solar does not “work” at night.
  • Home solar panels are not attractive.
  • DIY solar installation is difficult (if not impossible) for most homeowners.
  • Not every roof configuration is ideal for maximum solar power generation.
  • Solar manufacturing is not good for the environment.

Do solar panels increase property taxes California? ›

Do solar panels increase your property taxes in California? No. Due to California's Active Solar Energy Tax Exclusion incentive, you avoid increasing property taxes from a solar system through Jan. 1, 2025.

Is Sunrun owned by Costco? ›

No. Although Costco and Sunrun are partners in advertising solar, Costco does not back the warranties for your solar panel system – all they provide is a Costco Cash Card and access to their Costco Member Service Hotline.

Can I cancel my contract with Sunrun? ›

Leasing contracts from SunRun, Vivint, or other third-party owned providers offer a short time frame where you can cancel the contract without incurring any penalty. This time frame may be different from one leasing company to another, but you can expect it to be around 30 days after signing a contract.

Is there a lawsuit against Sunrun? ›

The SunRun class action lawsuit is brought on behalf of all persons and entities in the state of California who entered into a solar power contract with SunRun prior to February 2012.

Does Sunrun have a future? ›

What Is Sunrun Stock's Forecast For 2022? The outlook for the solar industry as a whole is very positive -- at least when it comes to revenue growth. It seems pretty clear that solar will continue to experience rapid growth, both in the utility-scale space and in the residential space (Sunrun's market).

Why is Sunrun not profitable? ›

Solar developer Sunrun is growing fast, but supply-chain woes and Covid-related problems hurt its results in the fourth quarter, causing earnings to fall below analysts' expectations.

How do I get out of Sunrun? ›

When it comes to buying out a lease agreement, there's generally a few options. If you've leased from Sunrun, a company that pioneered the solar lease and solar power purchase agreement (PPA) structure back in 2007, the options include a cash buyout, or a full amount solar lease buyout.

Do solar panels increase bills? ›

You won't notice any difference in your electricity supply. You can use your solar panels alongside a normal energy tariff, and there's no need to tell your energy company. You'll just use less electricity from the Grid, and therefore pay lower bills.

Who is better SunPower or Sunrun? ›

SunPower has overall higher quality solar panels than Sunrun. Thanks to its superior output ratings, efficiency ratings, and warranties, SunPower solar panels dramatically outperform Sunrun panels. The SunPower M Series solar panels are the best solar panels on the market today.

How much do solar panels increase home value 2022? ›

A few studies have shown that solar installations increase a home's resale value by up to $6,000 for each kilowatt of solar panels installed, or by about 4.1% of the home's value.

What are the worst months for solar? ›

If your solar energy system was turned on between March and September, and most are, because that's more than half the year, then you may be horrified when your October production drops.

Will solar continue to get cheaper? ›

That said, the cost of solar will continue to trend downward – just at a less rapid pace; Bloomberg has predicted that the cost of solar will decrease by about 34% by 2030, which is still a sizable decrease!

What is the biggest problem with solar panels? ›

Intermittency. One of the biggest problems that solar energy technology poses is that energy is only generated while the sun is shining. That means nighttime and overcast days can interrupt the supply.

Is there a downside to having solar? ›

Disadvantages of solar energy include a high initial cost, an inability to work on every roof type, and it may be difficult to find a local installer depending on where you live.

Will solar panels get cheaper in 2023? ›

That works out to about $26,125 for an average system of 9,500 watts before taking into account a federal tax credit. For the 2022 tax year, the credit stands at 26 percent of the cost of solar system; it is slated to drop to 22 percent in 2023 and end in 2024.

How long does it take for solar panels to pay for themselves? ›

Solar panels typically pay for themselves within nine to 12 years. Solar panels reduce or eliminate the cost of electric utility bills. Utilities may pay solar panel users through a process called net metering.

How long until solar panels are worth it? ›

For most homeowners in the U.S., it takes roughly eight years to break even on a solar panel investment. For example, if your solar installation cost is $16,000 and the system helps you conserve $2,000 annually on energy bills, then your payback period will be around eight years (16,000/2,000 = 8).

What is the solar tax credit for 2023? ›

Solar PV systems installed in 2020 and 2021 are eligible for a 26% tax credit. In August 2022, Congress passed an extension of the ITC, raising it to 30% for the installation of which was between 2022-2032.

Do homes with solar panels sell for more? ›

According to Zillow, homes with solar panels sell for approximately 4 percent higher on average than homes without solar energy. That means an added value of about $9,200.

Are solar panels a good long term investment? ›

Solar panels offer an excellent long-term benefit of providing savings on the cost of utilities. Monthly electricity charges can be reduced by up to 20%.

How much does a full solar panel cost? ›

According to the Center for Sustainable Energy, the average cost for solar panels is $3–$5 per watt, totaling $15,000–$20,000 for a typical 5 kilowatt (kW) system. Learn which factors impact cost before reaching out to solar companies near you, plus get information about cost-saving tax credits and incentives.

What are bad things about solar panels? ›

Cons of Solar Energy:
  • High initial cost.
  • Intermittent energy source.
  • Uses a lot of space.
  • Small amount of pollution during manufacture, transport and installation.
  • Not ideal if you plan on moving house.
  • Location of solar cells.
5 Oct 2020

Do solar panels cause roof leaks? ›

In virtually all cases, the answer is no. Roof leaks after solar panels are extremely rare. When roof leaking after the solar panels are fitted does occur, however, it usually becomes evident very quickly after the installation process is finished.

Is there a California credit for solar? ›

Most California residents are eligible to receive the Federal Solar Tax Credit—also known as the Residential Clean Energy Credit. Originally known as the Investment Tax Credit (ITC), it covers up to 30% of the cost of installing a solar panel system.

How do I claim my solar tax credit in California? ›

If a solar system is placed in service in 2022, you will qualify for a 26% tax credit instead of 22%. You must purchase the system to claim the ITC. Consumers may not claim the tax credit for leases or Power Purchase Agreements (PPA).

Is California offering free solar panels? ›

California does not have a free solar installation program. No state currently has such a program. Instead, California offers tax incentives and rebates to reduce the cost of installing solar panels. This makes it cheaper to buy solar panels and convert to solar energy than in some other states.

Is Sunrun worth buying? ›

Sunrun has received a consensus rating of Buy.

Does Sunrun use good solar panels? ›

Sunrun installs monocrystalline solar panels from various manufacturers. Monocrystalline panels are the most efficient panels on the market, with an average efficiency rate of 15%–20%.

How long do Sunrun solar panels last? ›

Studies show that solar panels can last anywhere from 20 to 30 years, or sometimes longer. Still, this doesn't mean the panels on your roof will stop producing electricity after a couple of decades.

What is the number 1 solar company in America? ›

Sunrun: The biggest solar company in America. Sunrun offers quality panels, a choice of a couple of batteries and quality inverters. It also offers strong warranties. Most of its business is in leases or power purchase agreements, and Sunrun provides stronger warranties for power purchase agreements than purchases.

What is the best solar to buy? ›

What is the most efficient solar panel? Currently, the most efficient residential solar panel available to install is the SunPower A-Series, coming in at a whopping 22.8 percent. What are the best solar panel brands? Generally speaking, SunPower, REC, and Panasonic make the best solar panels.

Is Sunrun losing money? ›

Sunrun (RUN)

Wall Street has re-rated most unprofitable companies this year, and Sunrun was no exception. The company was profitable from 2017 through 2019 but started to lose money in 2020 despite its robust revenue growth, which is a red flag.

Do you save money with Sunrun? ›

A Sunrun solar lease, lets you save thousands of dollars in maintenance and repairs. You simply pay for the power, and we take care of the rest.

Who is the most reputable solar company? ›

  • The Best Solar Panel Installation Companies of 2022.
  • SunPower.
  • Sunpro Solar.
  • Blue Raven Solar.
  • Momentum Solar.
  • Palmetto Solar.
  • Trinity Solar.
  • Tesla.
4 days ago

How long do sunrun solar panels last? ›

Studies show that solar panels can last anywhere from 20 to 30 years, or sometimes longer. Still, this doesn't mean the panels on your roof will stop producing electricity after a couple of decades.

How do I get rid of Sunrun? ›

You may cancel the contract by emailing, mailing, faxing or delivering a written notice to the solar provider at their place of business by midnight of the third business day after you received a signed, dated copy of the contract.

Will Sunrun remove solar panels? ›

At the end of the term, Sunrun will remove the solar system at no extra cost. You can also buy your solar panels outright and move them to your new home, but it's generally easier and more cost-effective to transfer the agreement to the new household.

How do I cancel my Sunrun solar contract? ›

When it comes to buying out a lease agreement, there's generally a few options. If you've leased from Sunrun, a company that pioneered the solar lease and solar power purchase agreement (PPA) structure back in 2007, the options include a cash buyout, or a full amount solar lease buyout.

Which is better sunrun vs SunPower? ›

SunPower has overall higher quality solar panels than Sunrun. Thanks to its superior output ratings, efficiency ratings, and warranties, SunPower solar panels dramatically outperform Sunrun panels. The SunPower M Series solar panels are the best solar panels on the market today.

Is Sunrun the same as Tesla? ›

Both Sunrun and Tesla install top-tier, monocrystalline solar panels, so the equipment is above-average when it comes to durability and performance. Sunrun installs equipment from LONGi, Costco, Enphase, and, ironically, Tesla (but only for the Powerwall). Tesla only installs its own manufactured home solar products.

Is Sunrun a Chinese company? ›

Sunrun is an American provider of photovoltaic solar energy generation systems and battery energy storage products, primarily for residential customers. The company was established in 2007 and is headquartered in San Francisco, California.

Do solar panels make it harder to sell house? ›

According to the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, homes with solar panels sell 20% faster and for 17% more than those without.

Are sunrun solar panels made in China? ›

Sunrun has been in business since 2007, while Tesla only entered the solar market in 2016. Sunrun's solar panels are made in the USA, while Tesla's are made in China.

Videos

1. Tesla Solar Pros and Cons from a Real Customer - Honest Review of Tesla Solar and Powerwalls
(Scott's Smart Home)
2. Four Things You Need To Know Before Going Solar With Sunrun 2021| Sunrun Tips | Sunrun Solar Facts
(Keenen Knowles - The Solar Report by Solar Ken )
3. SUNRUN SOLAR |INSTALLED| MUST WATCH|
(TheRealReviewz)
4. Sunrun Multifamily 2022
(Sunrun)
5. Sunrun customers unhappy with solar panels
(KTNV Channel 13 Las Vegas)
6. I just bought Tesla solar (sunrun wouldn't let me)
(Brian Harrington)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Edmund Hettinger DC

Last Updated: 02/18/2023

Views: 5326

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (58 voted)

Reviews: 89% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Edmund Hettinger DC

Birthday: 1994-08-17

Address: 2033 Gerhold Pine, Port Jocelyn, VA 12101-5654

Phone: +8524399971620

Job: Central Manufacturing Supervisor

Hobby: Jogging, Metalworking, Tai chi, Shopping, Puzzles, Rock climbing, Crocheting

Introduction: My name is Edmund Hettinger DC, I am a adventurous, colorful, gifted, determined, precious, open, colorful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.